Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the girls over at the The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is our top ten favorite beginnings and/or endings in books. I have decided to split my post and share my favorite book beginnings AND endings, because this post was actually REALLY HARD due to my bad bookish memory. I had such a hard time figuring out the exact beginnings and endings of certain books!

beginnings6448471

1. Firelight by Sophie Jordan: If there’s one book that opens right in the middle of action, it’s Firelight. The opening chapter was REALLY exciting to read about and ultimately was a great introduction to the main characters, the world building and the plot without ONE part of info dumping. I was hooked on this book from the first chapter.

 

1254951

2. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen: This book is a great example of already wanting to know how it all ends right after you finish the first chapter. Why? Because The Luxe begins with a description of the main characters’ funeral. How can you not want to finish this immediately to figure out what happened?!

 

11733134

3. Wither by Lauren DeStefano: You guys, this opening chapter is SO BEAUTIFUL! Lauren’s prose is so so pretty and . Even if you don’t agree and/or like the plot of her books, you seriously cannot deny me in saying that her words are harrowing and beautiful. I knew she was going to be one of my favorite authors after I read the first chapter. SO MUCH LOVE.

 

9533922

4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis: The concept is what attracted me to this book in the first place. I needed to read this book because SPACESHIPS but also because the geek in me was screaming HOW COOL TO WAKE UP IN THE FUTURE. Only, that first chapter made me really think, IS it even that awesome as I assume?

endings Everneath5. Everneath by Brodi Ashton: Brodi Ashton is the Queen of Cliffhangers. I mean, I love her Everneath series, but the endings are pure turtore. It’s unexpected and so unpredictable, you’re so shocked that you didn’t see it coming and then BAM, last page. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

 

 

64828376. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: Just as with Lauren DeStefano, Lauren Oliver’s words are so, so beautiful. I love her prose. While reading I had no idea how she could possibly end this, but she handled it perfectly. It wasn’t the obvious Happily Ever After, which I always want when I come to love the characters, BUT the book would not have benefited from such an ending. This ending was shocking and ultimately, after many thoughts about it, satisfying.

 

1362517. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling: I have so much love for the Harry Potter series, so I already know I will probably feature it a lot in future Top Ten Tuesdays. Seriously, J.K. Rowling is my queen (isn’t she to almost all of us though?). I know some readers consider the very last chapter (I’m talking about the epilogue) too cheesy and some even say that it reads like bad fan-fiction. Not me though, I LOVE this ending.

 

62398738. Splendor by Anna Godbersen:  Okay, so The Luxe series is on my best beginning AND ending list, but don’t assume that this is because this series is perfect. It’s not. But after having read and loved four books I came attached to the characters, and while the ending wasn’t the perfect HEA I would have wanted for them, this ending is way more realistic and satisfying.

blackdotsSo yes, for my first Top Ten Tuesday I already failed at listing ten choices. This may or may not be a regular thing. Who am I kidding of course I will fail again.

Do you agree with any of my choices or do you disagree completely? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to leave a link to your own TTT!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings in Books

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: First Lines and Impressions from my To Be Read List | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

