Review: Glitch

10535458Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
Publication date
: August 7th 2012
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Sci-Fi / Dystopian

In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.

When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.

As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.

blackdotsLook at that beautiful cover! Besides that I think this is one of the best covers I’ve seen this year, I also liked that Glitch is a YA Sci-Fi book. After having read and absolutely loved books like Across the Universe and Cinder, I was pleased to find more books in this genre. Unfortunately, Glitch doesn’t deliver on the Sci-Fi aspect at all.

Let me start with the positive points, because there aren’t many I’m afraid. First of all, the plot is okay and interesting, but on the other hand, it’s nothing special. It’s a very generic dystopian. Besides the plot, I liked Zoe as a character. She’s relatable enough and her reaction to these new emotions she experiences when glitching was fairly realistic. Although I have to mention that there are quite a few inconsistencies about these feelings and emotions. Thanks to her glitching, she is experiencing emotions for the very first time. She asks about the definition of the word ‘sorry’ and learns that reddening means embarrassment. I find that realistic. But, what I find inconsistent is that the narration acknowledges peoples’ emotions/feelings easily. Zoe would think things like ‘he looks frustrated’, etc. And all I could think was HOW DO YOU KNOW?!

idk-girl

Then the negative points, which is actually all about the other characters who ruined this book for me. For example, the ONLY other girl that’s mentioned beside Zoe is Molla and she is described as being a very scared girl. This bothered me because I felt this was done to make Zoe look better and I DON’T need that.

Adrien and Max are the supposed love interests of Zoe. But really, this isn’t romance. Adrien is obsessed and stalkerish and proclaims his love for Zoe the first day they interact. I knew upfront there would be a love triangle so I hoped I’d like Max better. Unfortunately, I didn’t. Fellow glitcher Max doesn’t take these new emotions so well and is super obsessed, clingy, needy and creepy. I understand this is what realistically could happen to a person under these circumstances, but if a dystopian book is so focused on the romance aspect than I at least need to like/care for the male leads. Now I’ve had to read about a guy that’s too creepy and a guy I didn’t really get to know except that he of course loves Zoe (and he has a very wise mother that he probably should listen to, but when’s that ever going to happen in YA?)

disappointment

I wouldn’t recommend this for big Sci-Fi fans, because Glitch is VERY focused on the romance aspect. I even think that people who seek a romance book will be more pleased with Glitch than readers who seek a Sci-Fi book. Just bear in mind that the male leads aren’t very lovable.

black2

Goodreads| The Book Depository | Author website | Author twitter

blackdotsMy favorite review for Glitch:
Meg from Ink Skies“Perhaps the only thing I really liked about Glitch was the concept and the cover”

Leave a Reply

